April 04, 2004 @ 5:15 p.m.
Godiva Martini.... Good. Absinthe.... Even Better

Last night The Husband and I had dinner at our favorite restaurant. Around midnight, The Owner and his bartender started making martini concoctions for a new martini menu and The Husband and I were the guinea pigs.

Which was a perfect cap to the ten beers I had chugged earlier.

My favorite was the Godiva Martini, made with Godiva Chocolate Liquor, Vanilla Grey Goose Vodka, and milk, then sprinkled with cocoa. I thought I had died and gone to heaven.

Naturally, I had a few more of those, while the gentleman broke out and started doing straight shots of Absinthe.

For those of you not familiar with Absinthe, it was the drink of choice in the 19th century, especially, among writers and artists, such as Picasso, Van Gogh, Hemingway and Poe. Due to its strong narcotic-like effect, its use �was considered a ticket to the insane asylum� and was eventually banned in many countries.

It is still illegal in the United States and I don�t care. I need to get my hands on some, quick.

After four hours of constant chatter, The Husband was completely silent for the rest of the night. That was completely amazing to me since he hasn�t shut up for more than a minute since we met. He even talks in his sleep for God sakes.

If it keeps The Husband quiet, I MUST have this product in my liquor cabinet.

We didn�t make it home until after 3:00am, and I briefly considered writing an entry. It occurred to me that I could only see straight if I closed one eye and that, my friends, would have resulted in one fucked up entry.

previous//next

9 comments

All photos are the exclusive property of the owner of this site, except where otherwise noted.

Miss These?
Can you hear me now? - June 11, 2013
- - July 18, 2012
- - November 18, 2010
She's A Whore - February 10, 2008
Two Cats One Mouse - January 06, 2008

Rate Me on BlogHop.com!
the best pretty good okay pretty bad the worst help?

host