January 06, 2008 @ 12:19 a.m.
Two Cats One Mouse

So we have been cohabitating with a mouse for the last several months. He lives in the stove.

You see, what this mouse didn�t count on was that by moving into our stove he was essentially putting his life on the line. Residing in the same house with four cats does not result in a long and happy life for a mouse no matter what the lease agreement states.

So for the last three or four months, when I would come down to the kitchen in the morning I would inevitably find that the loose floor board under the cabinet next to the stove had been moved and the storage drawer below the oven had been opened.

Now, I don�t have anything particular against mice in general, but there is something a little unsettling about the thought of a rodent traipsing around in the inside of the appliance that cooks the food I eat. So I was comforted by the fact that one or four of the cats were on top of the matter.

This morning I came down and Shiva was casing the toaster oven. She was freaking and I knew that the damned fool had actually worked up the nerve to leave the confines of the stove.

I peeked under and there he was. Cute little fella.

So I go about my business, since Shiva is an all time pro at mauling small defenseless animals, as was evidenced in her younger years when we used to let her roam free in the outside world.

(One Halloween, I returned home from work to find six, count them, six dead field mice on my doorstep. That was surely an all time world record, if Guinness kept track of such things.)

About twenty minutes later, I was sitting on the couch eating my Honey Bunches of Oats when Shiva comes running into the living room with a mouse firmly lodged in the confines of her fangs.

Now, rather than let the cruelty of nature take its course quickly she decides to play field hockey with the poor bastard and swat him around the dinning room for a period or two. And once she grew weary of that game, she let him go.

That�s right. Let him go!

And under the couch he went.

Murphy, who had been sleeping on our bed the whole time, decided that it was fine time he investigated as to what all the commotion was going on in the living room.

Meanwhile I am freaking because a mouse living in the place where I plant my ass for a few hours every evening is just about ten times worse than a mouse living in my stove. So Hubby pulls the 900 pound couch out from the wall and I remove the cushions for easier access.



It was at that point that the Hubby and I began questioning the need for our involvement in this whole process. Like why were we helping them? Cats have been hunting and capturing mice without the assistance of humans since the dawn of time.

We sat back for a while and allowed nature to take its course. Nature

Apparently, Shiva was greatly disturbed by the fact that Murphy wanted to participate in her little mouse party and informed him of her displeasure by whacking him in the face a couple dozen times.

In fact, she was so annoyed with Murphy that she completely lost interest in the whole process.

But in the end, the mouse lost the battle. We�re not sure which one of them completed the task, but three hours later it was done.

I�m just glad that this time I didn�t have to pick up mouse intestines.


previous//next

3 comments

All photos are the exclusive property of the owner of this site, except where otherwise noted.

Miss These?
Can you hear me now? - June 11, 2013
- - July 18, 2012
- - November 18, 2010
She's A Whore - February 10, 2008
Two Cats One Mouse - January 06, 2008

Rate Me on BlogHop.com!
the best pretty good okay pretty bad the worst help?

host