June 24, 2004 @ 11:22 p.m.
Happy Ending

I took a big step today.

A very big step and I feel liberated.

I got my hair cut today. Okay, trimmed. Still, a very big step for someone who hasn�t let anyone touch her hair in over twelve years doncha think?

#1 and I went to Bensonhurst to do some shopping. A place where only the rich and famous or the unemployed are able to shop since most of the stores close at exactly 7:30. Leaving the working class to squeeze unnaturally underneath the closing electric gates in order to peruse the wears.

#1 also wanted to get her hair trimmed a bit and I agreed to watch.

Getting my haircut has been on my mind for months and every time I see someone with long straight hair I usually inquire where she goes to get her hair done. More often than not, I am referred to Vidal Sassoon since they are �phenomenal with straight hair.� However, a hair cut at a Vidal Sassoon in Manhattan runs from $150 - $400.

All of the hair shops on the avenue were owned and operated by Asian people. It occurred to me as we walked from the car who better to cut my straight hair than Asians. I figured what the hell.

For fourteen dollars plus an eight dollar tip I got a wash (during which I received a neck and temple massage that turned me on to the point that I was secretly hoping for an offer for a �happy ending�), trim and a blow dry.

I almost got my eyebrows waxed but I figure that might be pushing it for one day, not to mention a bit painful.

The funny thing was one of the girls that worked there went over to #1 to compliment her on her beautiful full lips, asked why she didn�t wear eye makeup and finally asked about me.

Girl - �Is that her natural color?�

#1 � �Yeeessss.�

Girl � �Where is she from?�

#1 � �She�s from here. She was born in Brooklyn.�

Girl � �What is she?�

#1 � �German, Irish, Cherokee Indian among other things.�

Weird. I assumed my New Yawk City accent gave me away.

I refuse to discuss the bangle bracelet horror.

Okay, I�ll discuss it.

#1 assisted in the jewelry selection while I waited on line to pay for my purchases. She showed me a set of bangle bracelets that I loved and I tried them on. The only problem was I couldn�t get them off and stood there like an idiot contorting my hand in various positions thinking that the clerk was about to call security assuming that I was trying to steal them.

A blowtorch came to mind as I struggled to get the damn thing off. That was very empowering.

After the clerk rang me up I discovered that The Husband had my credit card and I had no cash. So I was unwillingly forced to apply for a New York & Co. credit card, which is just what I need.

Have I ever mentioned that I hate shopping?


My favorite co-workers, The Husband and I are going out for dinner and drinks tomorrow after work, a ride on the Cyclone and a visit to the freak show.

Of course, there will be pictures.

previous//next

1 comments

All photos are the exclusive property of the owner of this site, except where otherwise noted.

Miss These?
Can you hear me now? - June 11, 2013
- - July 18, 2012
- - November 18, 2010
She's A Whore - February 10, 2008
Two Cats One Mouse - January 06, 2008

Rate Me on BlogHop.com!
the best pretty good okay pretty bad the worst help?

host